MDM Configuration profiles are non-removable on Apple Business Manager-enrolled devices unless the device is first. Upon archival, Fleetsmith sends a command to the device which removes the MDM profile.
The option to remove the profile is grayed out
However if Fleetsmith is prevented from communicating with your device when is it archived in the Admin Console (for instance if the Fleetsmith Agent is uninstalled on the device before it is archived) the MDM profile will remain installed and in a non-removable state.
There are two ways to resolve this:
- If you are planning on re-enrolling this device and assigning it to another user, you must . Thanks to Apple Business Manager, the device will automatically be managed by Fleetsmith again with a new MDM profile and ready to be assigned to a new user after the OS is reinstalled.
- If you are planning on decommissioning the device or no longer managing it, you must r before reformatting and installing a fresh OS otherwise it will automatically check in and be managed again.