Archiving a device and removing a device record serve two different purposes in the Fleetsmith device lifecycle.
Archiving a Device
Archiving will remove a device from active management. The device will be removed from the Active Devices page and instead a record of the device will appear on the Archived Devices page. This record serves as a snapshot of the device’s facts at the time it was archived––the information shown here will not be updated.
⭐️Please Note: ⭐️When an active device is remotely erased, it will be automatically archived as well. The unlock PIN for the device will be available in the archived record in the Admin Console. Permanently deleting the archived record will delete the PIN, too!
Removing a Device Record (previously known as Deleting a Device)
Once a device is archived, its record can be permanently deleted. Deleting a device record at this stage will erase all record of it from your Fleetsmith Admin Console. If you think you may need to go back and reference archived records at a later date, we recommend not permanently deleting devices.