When you first initiate a lock or erase on a device the status will update within Fleetsmith to "Pending Erase" or "Pending Lock" on the device details page.
If an Erase command was issued the device will automatically be archived and will show "Pending Erase" in the status column as well.
Once the device has acknowledged the Lock or Erase command the status will update to "Erased" or "Locked" on the device details page.
What does the end user see?
When a lock or erase command is issued, the end user will see a black screen with an Apple & progress bar as soon as the command has been received (usually as soon as the device is on a network.)
Once this process has completed the user will be greeted with a grey screen asking for a system lock PIN. This PIN is retrievable from the Fleetsmith Admin Console. The user is unable to proceed past this screen without this PIN. The user is unable to boot normally, or into recovery mode, without this PIN.