Why can’t I remove the MDM config file from “Profiles” in System Preferences? Follow MDM Configuration profiles are non-removable on DEP devices unless the device is archived first. Upon archival, Fleetsmith sends a command to the device which removes the MDM profile. However, there can sometimes be situations in which Fleetsmith is prevented from communicating with your device. In these cases, you're left with a device that has a non-removable MDM profile. If you reformat the drive and do a fresh install of the OS, the device (because it is a DEP device) will be automatically managed by Fleetsmith again and thus will have an MDM profile on it. Related articles How do I re-enroll a device with Fleetsmith without wiping it? "New profile does not meet criteria to replace the existing profile" error Re-provisioning a DEP device Time Machine Backup & Fleetsmith Comments 0 comments Article is closed for comments.