During device approval, you’ll see a warning if you attempt to approve a device that has the same serial number as an existing, previously approved device. It looks like this:
By approving the device, you’ll replace the existing device record within Fleetsmith. If there is a FileVault key associated with the old device record, it will still be available.
Frequently asked questions
When would I see this warning?
There are two common scenarios which would cause this to occur:
- For troubleshooting reasons, the Fleetsmith Agent is uninstalled and then reinstalled on a device, and shows up for approval again.
- A device is erased and re-deployed to a new employee, and is then re-enrolled in Fleetsmith (via DEP or Fleetsmith Agent installation), and shows up for approval again.
In both of these scenarios, the previously approved device record would remain in Fleetsmith unless a Fleetsmith Admin had manually deleted the device record. At device approval time, you (the Admin) can decide whether you’d like to replace the old (outdated/stale) device record with the fresh enrollment (via DEP or Fleetsmith Agent installation).